National Preventive Mechanism

The Optional Protocol to the Convention against Torture and other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (OPCAT) is an international human rights treaty to protect those deprived of their liberty. 

The UK has signed the OPCAT which means a 'National Preventive Mechanism' must be put in place. This body visits all places of detention to monitor treatment and conditions and make recommendations. 

In the UK this  National Preventive Mechanism consists of 18 bodies that visit or inspect detention within their existing remit, including HMIP, the Independent Monitoring Boards and others. It is coordinated by the HMIP. 

Annual Reports of the NPM